8 Types Of Prajapla




From Bhaktivinoda Thakura’s Piyusa-varsini commentary on Sri Upedeshamrta.

Prajalpa which spoils bhakti is categorized by Bhaktivinoda Thakura into the following 8 categories:

(1) Useless talks

(not about Lord Hari)

(2) Arguments

(godless quarrels like nyaya & vaisesika not based on the Vedas)

(3) Gossip

(talking about other people to establish one’s reputation)

(4) Debates

(desire for conquest)

(5) Fault-finding in others

(imposing one’s bad habits on others)

(6) Speaking falsehoods

(because of one’s self-interest)

(7)Blaspheming devotees

(the worst)

(8) Worldly talk

(devoid of God consciousness)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *